August Hydrangea Care

Hydrangea

August is almost upon us and sadly I can see that my beautiful hydrangea are starting to change colors.  This heralds the beginning of the end of Summer for me.  Now I will wait until the last moment possible because some of my hydrangea turn into beautiful red, maroon and dark blue colors that are even more vibrant the hot pinks that graced their stems throughout the previous months.  But when that moment finally arrives It will be time to cut back the hydrangea bushes. Now to do it correctly follow these simple guidelines. Most hydrangea produce flowers on the previous year’s growth (two exceptions are ‘All Summer Beauty’ and Endless Summer, which bloom on new growth).To shape and keep up the plants’ size, and to avoid cutting off next year’s flower buds, prune them back right after blooms fade. Like I said though I sometimes leave my flowers on the bush until they have completely changed color. Cut stems that have bloomed back to 12 inches. To produce fewer, larger flowers next spring, cut back some of the stems to the base of the plant.

Hydrangea are one of my favorite flowers, and as with many things in my garden I often have my own way of doing things that works for me.  I encourage you to find your way in your garden.

Cheryl in the Garden

Leave a Reply

