“Bare” Naked Ladies

I love the Barenaked Ladies. I love their music, so catchy it gets stuck in my head all the time, but I’m actually not going to talk about them today.  Today I am going to talk about Naked Ladies or the Belladonna Lily or the Amaryllis Bellladonna as it is often referred to. A beautiful if not sneaky South African flowering bulb that I have growing by my fence in my front yard.  I didn’t plant them.  They just moved in from next door over the past few years. Not that I mind, I have gotten some of my prettiest flowers that way.  Also some of my worst weeds come to think of it!  Here is some information on Naked Ladies:

Category:
Bulbs

Height:
24-36 in. (60-90 cm)

Spacing:
9-12 in. (22-30 cm)

Sun Exposure:

Naked Ladies

Naked Ladies

Full Sun

Danger:
All parts of plant are poisonous if ingested

Bloom Color:
Pink

Bloom Time:
Late Summer/Early Fall

Foliage:
Smooth-Textured

Other details:
Flowers are fragrant
This plant is suitable for growing indoors
Average Water Needs; Water regularly; do not overwater

Soil pH requirements:
6.1 to 6.5 (mildly acidic)
6.6 to 7.5 (neutral)
7.6 to 7.8 (mildly alkaline)

Propagation Methods:
By dividing bulbs (including offsets)

 Growing Naked Ladies is one of the easiest things you can do in your garden, basically you “love em and leave em” and they will take care of themselves. Don’t you wish everything in life was this easy?
Cheryl in the Garden
2 thoughts on ““Bare” Naked Ladies

  1. Thanks for your imput, Cheryl. I got some from a friend last year and they are now popping up. Anxious to see the flower.

Leave a Reply

