Summer in the City

“The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco.”
The coolest thing Mark Twain never said.

While usually attributed to him, the actual source of these words is unknown
and there is no evidence that Mark Twain ever said this.

San Francisco is actually blessed with a moderate climate all year long. The temperature is rarely too hot, and seldom too cold. The average daily temperature is 62.5 degrees. Expect some of the famous fog during the summer and rain November through March. The months of September and October are known for their balmy, fog free, sunny days.  Now I live just across the Bay in Alameda and the weather is very similar except usually warmer in the summer  and less fog in the winter.  Except this summer.  I feel like I am living in the city and so does my garden.  While the rest of the country is experiencing record heat, here in Alameda it has been in the low 70’s, damp and cloudy most of the day.  My vegetables are not very happy.  We have started to have some warmer days of late, the sun has been peeking out by noon but it’s already August and I expect it’s too late to make much difference in the quality of my tomatoes. So while I am thankful I’m not experiencing those scorching record-breaking heat waves.  I do wish my early girls weren’t so late.

Early Girl Tomato

Early Girl Tomato

Leave a Reply

