Angel of the Morning

Angel's Trumpet

Angel’s Trumpet

I am not a native Californian.  Moving from the East Coast over 16 years ago was quite an experience to me when it came to my garden.  Nothing was the same, plants, weather, plants, soil, pests, oh and did I say plants? Not that they were a bad thing at all. The plants here are absolutely amazing at times.  The Angel’s Trumpet is a perfect example of that.  I took this photo the other day with the morning  sun shining through the huge blossom of this angel’s trumpet. The flowers are unbelievable 10″ trumpet-shaped blooms usually in white.  Mine are a pale pink variety.  Its fragrant flowers dangle from upright stems and appear in shades of white, yellow, pink, orange, and cream.  It must be noted that every part of this plant is poisonous and care should be taken around children.  Also wear gloves when pruning.   My tree is in a secluded part of my garden.  We tried to dig it up on one occasion and it came back, the frost has killed part of it and it returned so it is a very tenacious plant. I love the flowers and the scent that comes into my  bathroom window it makes me feel like I am on a tropical island. I love my Angel in the Morning.

Leave a Reply

