Fall is Coming!

August is slowly coming to an end and September is right around the corner. So many people look at Fall as just the end of Summer. When in reality it is much more than that. The beginning of school, the smell of new crayons, Leaves changing colors, frost in the mornings, chrysanthemums on doorsteps beside gourds.

Mums

Mums

I love Autumn and it is also a time for planting. Buying roses in Fall for their beautiful rose hips is an unconventional yet welcome addition to any garden.  I use rose hips in many of my cut arrangements this time of year. This is also one of the best times to plant hydrangea.  When I was in Half Moon Bay the other day I went into New Leaf Market  and found the most unusual hydrangea I’ve seen in some time. It looked like a purple lace cap but also like a cross between a shooting star. It was the only one so I had to have it.

It is now added to my collection of plants I need to plant!  I had to find some space and this past weekend we dug up  some large bushes by our backyard side fence.  That has given me quite a bit of room to work with.  I can’t wait to get started.  I can’t wait for Fall!

Lacecap Shooting Star

Purple Lacecap Shooting Star

Leave a Reply

