Favorite Friday

It’s Friday and my favorite kind of day! Drizzily, blustery and cold. Tomorrow is September 1st and I am officially declaring an early Fall here in the San Francisco Bay Area. I know the temperature will probably warm up again but today I’m having hot chocolate with my breakfast croissant and pulling out my favorite sweater. It is a day to climb up in the attic and look for the fall decorations.  A day  to check my canning supplies for my “almost ready” apples. A day to rummage through my cabinets and bring out my pumpkin soup tureen. Oh that sounds good for dinner!

I love all things pumpkin, pumpkin bread, pancakes, soup, and try as I might I haven’t been able to grow them here yet. I try every year. One year snails got them, then another I think the soil wasn’t right, another, raccoons, and this year it just wasn’t warm enough.  I’ve made it as far as baby pumpkins before something happens. I’m not giving up though, come Spring I will try again, I am determined to grow my very own pumpkin patch for my grandkids Juliana, Nolan and Tylor to wait for the Great Pumpkin in.

Leave a Reply

