Seasons of Love

The winters are so mild here that I am debating on whether to plant my coleus in the ground. We do get a couple of hard frosts occasionally but I am also going to take cuttings from each one and start new plants for the indoors as well as give to a friend who really loves them. There is always a chance you might lose something you love when you plant it outside here if it is considered an indoor plant typically. But there is usually a bigger chance it will survive.  That is one of the things I love about gardening in California.  I do have many more options than I had back East. Even though I really do miss the Seasons!  Seasons always gave me a sense of time passing and now I have had to adjust my Seasons to revolve more around events instead of weather which is very hard for a gardener 🙂 Leaves don’t really change in the fall here, the kids go back to school and the stores start selling mums and gourds. It does get a little cooler in the evenings. My apples on my tree are ready as well as the grapes on my grapevine.  Halloween items appear in September. Yes, it must be Fall.

Leave a Reply

