Garden Grandma

My Grandma

My grandma’s name was Greedle Dobbs and I think in many ways she and I were more alike than most of my relatives. I believe I owe most of my love of gardening to her. She lived in a very rural part of Kentucky for all of her life and always grew a large vegetable garden that provided food and income for the family. She raised corn, green beans, tomatoes, cucumbers, potatoes and more.

th-1

Some of my earliest memories of her were during summer vacation, helping her plant in the fields behind her house. She did it all by hand and now that I look back I am amazed, but that was the way it was done there and the way she had always done it.

I remember one year after I had moved to Kentucky for a short period of time with my two young children, she came to my home and together we dug and planted a small vegetable garden in my backyard. We laughed and talked about all those years ago when I was  younger helping with her garden. Grandma said she believed I loved eating the tomatoes more than planting them! We planted many of the same vegetables we used when I was a child.

As a child my love of gardening eventually spilled over into flowers and all things growing. I loved picking bouquets of flowers for my mother and teachers. Planting and growing them as well.

Next Generation

Now I see that same love skipping a generation and settling upon my granddaughter Juliana, making me her Garden Grandma. I just hope I can be even a little bit of what my grandma was to me. She passed away when Juliana was a baby so she doesn’t really remember her. She was full of laughter and determination and so much knowledge. She lived a very hard life but always made it seem like fun when we were there. I try to carry on some of the same traditions that she did, filled with the same love and spirit.IMG_8408

One thought on “Garden Grandma

  1. Pingback: Teaching Tylor | Cheryl's Garden

Leave a Reply

